Profile of BJP President: Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda

Jagat Prakash Nadda (born 2 December 1960) is an Indian politician and the National President of the Bharatiya Janta Party since 20 January 2020. He was the BJP's working president from June 2019 to January 2020.

Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda is the former Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare and member of Rajya Sabha from Himachal Pradesh and Parliamentary Board Secretary of Bharatiya Janata Party. Earlier, he was a Minister in Himachal Pradesh Government.

Personal life:

A Himachali by origin, Jagat Prakash Nadda was born on 2 December 1960 to Narain Lall Nadda and Krishna Nadda in Patna, Bihar. He has a brother Jagat Bhushan Nadda. He was educated at St. Xavier's School, Patna. Thereafter he did his B.A. from Patna College, Patna University and LL.B. from Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla. As a child, he represented Bihar in the All India Junior Swimming Championship held at Delhi. Jagat Prakash Nadda married Mallika Nadda on 11 December 1991, with whom he has two sons.

Political career:

Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda was first elected to the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly in the election of 1993, he was subsequently re-elected in 1998.During his first term, he served as the Leader of his party group in the H.P. Legislative Assembly, from 1994 to 1998. He was the Minister of Health and Family Welfare and Parliamentary Affairs during his second term.

Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda was elected for another term in the 2007 elections. After Prem Kumar Dhumal formed a government, he inducted Jagat Prakash Nadda in his cabinet, as cabinet minister responsible for Forest, Environment, Science and Technology, from 2008 to 2010.

Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda did not seek re-election to the Legislative Assembly in 2012, and instead got elected to Rajya Sabha, Indian Parliament's upper chamber. In 2014, during a cabinet reshuffle, Prime Minister Narendra Modi made Nadda, the Minister of Health.

Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda was elected the National Working President of the Bharatiya Janata Party and in January 2020, the National President of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Share it now!